VBM Pro | Virtual Business Manager

SkofjaLokaNot a day goes by without encountering results of Photoshopped images: from enhanced color contracts, to thinned body figures, merged images and more. You name it, it’s been Photoshopped.

Skipping the arguments of how our perception of a reality is manipulated (and what the consequences are), I’d like to illustrate instead how easily your reputation and that of your business can be sabotaged.

Take a look at these two pictures. Which one do you think is the original?Cliff-side Dwellings of Ronda ~ Spain

If you said the top left one, then you are correct.

The top (left) photo is a courtesy of my husband and was taken in August 2007. The bottom (right) has been posted on Facebook (that’s where I first saw it) as “Cliff-side Dwellings of Ronda ~ Spain”.

Something didn’t seem right when I saw image of the historic buildings of my hometown, Skofja Loka (Slovenia) raising above the “Spanish Cliffs”. However, hadn’t I known my own home town, I would’ve probably ignore the whole situation – I might even share the picture of the Cliffs with my network. So, it made me wonder:

How can we know what we don’t know? Should we check every piece of information before passing it along? And if yes, how can we do so without spending hours on end conducting research and fact-checking?

How often do we let a “lie”, “illusion”, “fabrication” overpower the “truth” and the “fact”? How easily do we adopt the “new truth”?

With all the resources at our finger tips, it gets easier with every passing minute to share information, images, and more; posts go viral though the social media, and before you know it, hundreds of thousands may see, use and forward it. If you are not careful with checking the facts and the credibility of a source before you pass on the information, sooner or later you will jeopardize your own reputation and credibility.

Besides relying on the good old encyclopedia (if you happen own one), be advised that not everything can be “googled up”. Sometimes, some serious digging is required, especially when a something becomes viral. How to conduct a research should be a topic of a future blog.

But while we are at Photoshop, take a look at these 52 Worst Photoshop Mistakes in Magazines.

I’d love for you to share what your strategy is for checking the information? Did you ever mistaken a Photoshopped image for a real one? I am looking forward to exchanging more anecdotes on VBM Pro Facebook Page.

Comments on: "Sharing or Self-Sabotaging?" (3)

  1. I don’t believe there is a problem with photoshopping an image, but photoshopped composition and shared as a real world image then that is a problem, like the image you showed.

    I don’t remember mistaking an image as being photoshopped but i know that some of my images have been accused of being a photoshopped composition and they were shocked when they saw I had the original file and all but the colours where the same.

  2. Ben, thank you for sharing your experience! This goes to prove one more thing: always keep the originals:-)

    Do you ever disregard such accusations, or do you always prove the authenticity of your work?

  3. I sometimes laugh when an accusation is made and I give me spiel about wanting to take pictures not sat for hours behind a computer. When the image is something I am especially proud of I will strip the image back and show them what I did.

    I think that it is too easy to say an image is photoshoped when all images need some basic adjustments. The world is over saturated with images that people believe are not real like the covers of glossy magazines. This I believe has created a mistrust in images as people always go to the place that the image is doctored before thinking it could be real.

    In showing the original image I believe it is more educating people, not just that the image is not a computer generated composition but a real image. I also use it as a chance to show them how they can make their images like this too.

Leave a Reply

